Product detail

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: AND Through the Looking Glass

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: AND Through the Looking Glass

Author: Lewis Carroll; John Tenniel (Illustrator)
Series: Vintage Classics Ser.
$14.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland Lewis Carroll Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865) is a novel written by English author Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, better known under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll. It tells the story of a girl named Alice who falls down a rabbit-hole into a fantasy world populated by peculiar and anthropomorphic creatures. The tale is filled with allusions to Dodgson's friends (and enemies), and to the lessons that British schoolchildren were expected to memorize. The tale plays with logic in ways that have made the story of lasting popularity with adults as well as children. It is considered to be one of the most characteristic examples of the genre of literary nonsense, and its narrative course and structure has been enormously influential, mainly in the fantasy genre.
Promotion info

'So many out-of-the-way things had happened lately, that Alice had begun to think that very few things indeed were really impossible' Alice in Wonderland


"A book of wonder and nonsense laced with lethal wit" Guardian "Without these two books in my childhood I doubt whether my imagination would have developed at all" -- Kate Atkinson "A marvellous confidence in the primacy of the imagination" -- Will Self "Two nightmare destinations. Wonderland and Looking Glass. The more I read these books, the darker they shine. Carroll operates on language like a cruel, crazy surgeon" -- Jeff Noon "Precise, dream-like, subversive" -- Quentin Blake Independent on Sunday

Author description

Lewis Carroll's real name was Charles Lutwidge Dodgson. He was born on 27th January 1832 at Daresbury in Cheshire. He studied at Christ Church, Oxford University and later became a mathematics lecturer there. He wrote Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865) and Through the Looking Glass (1872) for the daughters of the Dean of Christ Church. He was very fond of puzzles and some readers have found mathematical jokes and codes hidden in his Alice books. His other works include Phantasmagoria and Other Poems (1869), The Hunting of the Snark (1876), Rhyme? And Reason? (1882), The Game of Logic (1887) and Sylvie and Bruno (1889, 1893). Dodgson was also an influential photographer. He died on 14th January 1898.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780099512073
  • : penguin random house
  • : Arrow
  • : August 2007
  • : 201mm X 133mm X 22mm
  • : May 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 336
  • : General & literary fiction; Classic fiction
  • : illustrations
  • : Lewis Carroll; John Tenniel (Illustrator)
  • : Paperback